DTM salutes its all-time top cars and its best drivers

The German Touring Automobile Championship collection has a protracted and fabled historical past | DTM photographs

You probably know the way American road-racing followers cherish the heyday of the Trans-Am collection. The truth is, you probably are a part of that group.

Anyway, there are related sentiments in Germany for the DTM, the famed Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft (German Touring Automobile Championship), which was discontinued after 1996 however then was reborn a couple of years later below the identical initials however with Masters as an alternative of Championship because the M phrase.

Because the DTM prepares for the delayed begin to its 2020 season, now scheduled to being August 1-2 at Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium, the collection has produced lists of its 10-greatest drivers and 10-greatest cars. 

Each lists are spectacular. 

“It’s humorous,” the collection says in its checklist of vehicles, “you measure the good racing vehicles by their outcomes. However, too usually, you choose them emotionally, too. Regardless of being a rolling body of metallic and carbon-fiber, the perfect racing vehicles are alive – they impart one thing to us that’s arduous to clarify.

“That’s why our checklist of the DTM’s 10 best vehicles isn’t merely a recap of wins, poles and quickest laps, it’s a roadmap of how we lived, how we raced, and the way we keep in mind.”

Nico Müller (SUI), Audi

And now, the checklist, although with no rationalization from the DTM why the top-10 checklist consists of solely 9 autos:

9. 2013-present Audi RS 5 DTM

8. 2012-2018 Mercedes-AMG C63 DTM

7. 2000-2003 Abt-Audi TT-R

6 1990-1992 Audi V8 quattro

5. 1991-1994 Ford Mustang

4. 1993-1996 Opel Calibra V6 4×4

3. 1993-1996 Alfa Romeo 155 V6

2. 1985-1989 Ford Sierra Turbo

  1. 1987-1993 BMW M3 (E30)

And for the top-10 drivers of such vehicles? Nicely, they add a real the worldwide nature of a racing collection dominated by German-produced autos:

10. Marco Wittmann (Germany)

9. Bruno Spengler (Canada)

8. Rene Rast (Germany)

7. Jamie Inexperienced (Nice Britain)

6. Nicola Larini (Italy)

5. Kurt Thiim (Denmark)

4. Gary Paffett (Nice Britain)

3. Mattias Ekstrom (Sweden)

2. Klaus Ludwig (Germany)

  1. Bern Schneider (Germany)

Source link